Talkspace
Tap a star to rate
What the service is
Talkspace is an online therapy and psychiatry platform that delivers mental health care through multiple formats: text messaging, live chat, audio and video calls with licensed therapists and psychiatric providers. The company is described on its site as "a UHS company" and claims to be the "#1 rated online therapy" platform with "1 million+ users." It offers individual therapy, couples therapy, LGBTQIA+ therapy, medication management, and specialized programs including therapy for women (Chapters), military and veterans. The platform is in-network with major insurance plans and advertises that "most insured members have a $0 copay."
How care works
Talkspace offers three primary modalities: unlimited messaging therapy, live chat, audio sessions and video sessions with licensed therapists. A patient can choose their preferred method of communication when signing up. The site emphasizes that you can "find a therapist" and access "unlimited messaging therapy," suggesting asynchronous text-based care is available alongside synchronous visits.
The site lists specialized therapy tracks: individual therapy, couples therapy, LGBTQIA+ therapy, "Chapters: therapy for women," therapy for military personnel, therapy for veterans, therapy for seniors, unlimited messaging therapy, and teen therapy. NYC-based patients can access "Teenspace" for adolescent care. A separate AI mental health support product called "Tee by Talkspace" is offered, described as "an AI mental health companion" with "a free 7 day trial." Provider continuity is mentioned but not detailed: the site refers to the ability to work with a chosen therapist.
For medication management, Talkspace offers psychiatry services alongside therapy. The site lists nine common medications available: "abilify (aripiprazole), buspar (buspirone), cymbalta (duloxetine), lexapro (escitalopram), lithium, propranolol, prozac (fluoxetine), trazodone, zoloft (sertraline)." It does not specify which controlled substances (stimulants, benzodiazepines, etc.) are available or restricted. The site does not describe the psychiatric evaluation, risk screening, or safety protocols for prescribing.
Conditions treated include "anxiety, social anxiety, depression, ADHD, bipolar disorder, OCD, insomnia, PTSD, postpartum depression, panic disorder, gambling addiction, schizophrenia, eating disorders." The site also mentions coverage for multiple conditions but does not detail whether all therapists treat all conditions or require referrals to specialists within the platform.
The platform emphasizes research backing, stating that the service is "backed by 30+ peer reviewed studies" and that "80% say it's as effective" as in-person therapy, though the full details of these studies are not provided on the captured pages. For providers, the site refers users to "therapists" and "psychiatric providers" but does not detail specific credentials, licensing types, therapist backgrounds, or the total size of its provider network on these captured pages. It does say the network covers 150+ areas of expertise and is licensed across all 50 states.
Pricing and insurance
The site states "most insured members have a $0 copay," suggesting in-network status covers the visit at no patient cost. On the Cigna insurance page, it specifies "the average copay for Cigna members is $20." The site names multiple major insurance plans as accepted: "Aetna, Cigna, Optum, TRICARE," plus "Blue Cross Blue Shield, Medicare and Medicare Advantage." It also lists "Carelon" as a coverage option. The site does not publish out-of-pocket pricing for uninsured patients. It does not explain how to verify in-network status, estimate copays for specific plans, or discuss deductibles and out-of-pocket maximums.
For uninsured or out-of-network patients, the site offers no pricing transparency; there is no published rate card or sliding scale. The company emphasizes insurance coverage as its primary business model, stating that it is "in-network with insurance and offering clear, flexible and transparent pricing, talkspace has no hidden fees." However, the full pricing page copy is truncated in the captured data, so specific plan tiers, monthly subscription costs, and out-of-pocket rates for self-pay patients are not available in these captured materials.
What the pages do not say
Talkspace does not publish pricing for uninsured patients or those paying out-of-pocket. It does not name which states it operates in or whether there are geographic restrictions on therapy or psychiatric services. The site does not specify provider credentials or licensure types (LCSW, LMFT, LPC, PhD, MD, PMHNP, etc.) beyond mentioning "psychiatric providers" and "therapists." No information is provided about which controlled substances can and cannot be prescribed. The site does not detail the psychiatric intake or risk assessment process. It does not explain wait times for first appointments, how quickly you can be matched with a therapist, or how to request a provider change. No mention is made of crisis protocols, emergency mental health resources, or how to access urgent care if you are in crisis. The site does not describe data privacy and security measures beyond HIPAA. It does not explain whether therapy sessions are recorded, transcribed, or how long message responses typically take. The "research-backed" claim references "30+ peer reviewed studies" and "80% say it's as effective," but the full context and citations are not captured in the truncated pages provided.
Who it fits and who it doesn't
Talkspace is ideal for people with Cigna, Aetna, Optum, TRICARE, Blue Cross Blue Shield, or Medicare insurance who want in-network coverage and a $0 to $20 copay. Those seeking asynchronous care via text messaging prefer flexibility over real-time sessions will appreciate the unlimited messaging option. Couples seeking specialized couples therapy can find dedicated providers. LGBTQIA+ individuals, military members, veterans, seniors, and women may benefit from specialized programs. People who want to try AI-assisted mental health support can access the free Tee trial. Those needing both therapy and psychiatry can access both within one platform.
It is not suitable for uninsured patients without knowing out-of-pocket costs; the site does not disclose them. People without one of the named insurance plans should verify coverage before signing up. Those needing urgent or crisis mental health support should not rely solely on Talkspace; the site does not advertise emergency resources or crisis protocols. Patients in states where Talkspace is not licensed cannot access services; geographic availability is not listed. Those seeking therapy only without psychiatric medication or those specifically needing controlled substances (stimulants, benzodiazepines) should verify availability before enrolling. People who prefer synchronous, real-time therapy over messaging should select a video or audio plan specifically. Anyone uncomfortable with AI mental health support should note that Tee is offered alongside traditional therapy, not as a replacement, but its integration into the platform varies.