Amwell

Tap a star to rate

What Amwell Is

Amwell is a telehealth platform operated by American Well Corporation offering remote mental health services including therapy, couples therapy, and psychiatric care. Its patients' site connects individuals to a network of over 350 licensed mental health professionals, while its business division serves health plans, employers, and higher-education institutions through bundled behavioral-health platforms. The service operates 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. The platform also offers other telehealth services including urgent care, pediatrics, women's health, and nutrition counseling, though mental health is the focus of this entry.

How Care Works on Amwell

Therapy and psychiatry both happen by video. To get started, you create an account on the Amwell web or mobile app, then review provider profiles showing education, experience and approach to treatment. You pick the provider you want, schedule the appointment online at a time that works for you (no phone call needed), add your phone number for contact if your appointment changes, and set a reminder. Amwell will email you a few hours before the call so you can prepare. On the appointment day you join the video call from home.

A typical therapy session lasts 45 minutes. The company describes the average patient as having six sessions total, though your therapist may recommend more or fewer based on your individual treatment plan. Cost does not vary by time of day: therapy visits cost the same whether you go at 3 p.m. on a Tuesday or 10 p.m. on a Saturday. Video sessions are private and HIPAA compliant, and Amwell is designed as a secure tool that lets you safely and confidentially consult with a therapist online.

For couples therapy, you and your partner join a licensed therapist on video. The initial visit is about 60 minutes. The therapist asks questions about how you relate to each other, explores factors contributing to difficulties, and identifies your goals for therapy. The therapist then suggests a treatment plan that might include insights to help you understand each other better, tips for talking constructively about feelings and concerns, skills for conflict resolution and problem-solving, and recommendations for follow-up sessions using evidence-based methods. Couples therapy can be short-term to resolve a particular conflict or longer-term to work out bigger issues and develop stronger relationship skills.

Provider selection matters. The company says its therapists are board-certified doctors available 24 hours a day and include psychologists, counselors, social workers, and other mental health disciplines with a wide variety of specialties. You are matching with one person for the long term and can see the same provider repeatedly. The site notes that "you'll talk to your provider and address your concerns" after choosing based on education, experience and your sense of fit.

For psychiatry, the process parallels therapy. You can schedule evaluation and medication management by video. Prescriptions are sent electronically to the pharmacy of your choice. The site emphasizes that providers can "diagnose conditions, provide treatment plans, and even prescribe medications via video chat or even over the phone."

What the Pages Prove

Conditions treated in therapy include anxiety, social anxiety, depression, stress management, LGBTQ counseling, bereavement and grief, OCD, PTSD and trauma, couples therapy, panic attacks, insomnia, and life transitions. For couples specifically, the site lists communication challenges, conflict resolution, infertility, infidelity, parenting problems, sexual difficulties, job loss, financial hardship, mental illness, addiction, and gambling.

On outcomes, the company reports that 97% of clients who said they were very or extremely satisfied with their therapist reported that satisfaction, and the average provider rating from clients who had therapy sessions is 4.9. For employers and health plans using Amwell's SilverCloud digital program, the site reports that 80% of users report improvement in symptoms, 65% experience clinically significant improvements, and 56% of users with a clinical diagnosis of depression or anxiety were symptom-free after 3 months. The site attributes these figures to academic partnerships including Stanford University, Harvard University, Trinity College Dublin, and the University of Cambridge.

The site does not publicly list prices without an account. It does say that appointments are available 24 hours a day, 365 days a year, and that prescriptions are sent electronically to the pharmacy of your choice. The company accepts insurance and describes itself as contracted with major insurance networks, though the site does not quantify the size of that network. For therapist credentials, the pages confirm therapists are licensed, board-certified doctors with education you can review. The site confirms the platform is HIPAA compliant and designed to maintain patient privacy and keep information secure.

What Amwell Does Not Say

The site does not publish per-session pricing on public pages without an account. It does not name which specific insurance plans it is in-network with, or quantify the size of its insurance network, beyond saying it accepts most major insurance. It does not specify which states therapy is available in. It does not detail whether psychiatrists can prescribe controlled substances, or clarify whether certain medication classes are off-limits. It does not describe wait times beyond noting that appointments this week are usually available. It does not specify which therapy modalities its providers practice, such as CBT, psychodynamic, or other approaches.

Who It Fits

Amwell works well for someone with employer insurance or a major health plan, since it emphasizes broad in-network coverage with major insurers. For couples or families, the site specifically names couples therapy and lists conditions like communication problems, conflict resolution, infidelity, and parenting issues. For someone needing evening or weekend appointments, Amwell is open 24/7 and does not charge more for off-hours visits, which differs from many therapist practices. For someone valuing privacy, the video-from-home option and HIPAA compliance appeal. For someone choosing between providers, the profile-browsing step lets you assess education and experience before committing.

It fits less well if you are uninsured or paying cash but need to know the price upfront, since the site does not list rates publicly. If you need medications in a controlled-substance class and want explicit clarity about prescriber policies, the site does not detail this. If you live in a state where telehealth for mental health is not yet permitted, these pages give no state-by-state detail to check against. If you strongly prefer a specific therapeutic modality, the site does not help you filter providers by that trait.

More in Online Psychiatry and Medication

See all