Doctor on Demand
Tap a star to rate
What Doctor on Demand is
Doctor on Demand is a national telehealth platform that combines urgent care, mental health services, and primary care in one app. The company operates video and phone appointments for therapy, psychiatry, couples counseling, and medication management, alongside treating colds, infections, skin conditions, and other medical issues. Most of the mental health work runs through licensed therapists and psychiatrists who work for or partner with the company, and it is a covered benefit for over 98,000,000 Americans.
How it works
A visitor to the site can book an appointment for urgent care, therapy, psychiatry, couples therapy, primary care, or online skin care. The signup process asks for a state and a preferred time, then the site indicates average wait times. The company says it can connect patients with a therapist within a few days. Therapy appointments can be scheduled for weekends, evenings, or during business hours, all through the phone or computer. Psychiatry visits include evaluations, initial diagnosis, and medication management, handled by licensed psychiatric clinicians. The couples therapy section emphasizes that patients do not need to be married to get therapy, which covers pre-marriage counseling, marriage counseling, and general relationship work. Therapy draws on evidence-based methods including cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT), eye movement desensitization and reprocessing (EMDR), and others. A visitor can switch providers or therapists by booking with someone different through the app.
The company's site emphasizes that insurance is not required, which matters for cash-paying patients and those without coverage. Insurance verification happens at booking: patients enter insurance details and the company checks whether they are covered and what their copay will be. For people without insurance, therapy sessions start at $134 per session. The site mentions that Doctor on Demand is a covered benefit for over 98,000,000 Americans, implying that most people with employer or insurance coverage will either pay $0 or a small copay, but does not specify which insurance plans it accepts beyond noting it partners with "leading health plans." The site shows names of a few plans on the homepage, including Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Minnesota, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Texas, and others, but does not publish a complete list. Couples therapy costs range from $0 to $134 depending on insurance status, matching the individual therapy pricing. For psychiatry and medication management, pricing appears to follow the same structure, though the site does not state psychiatry prices explicitly.
Who provides the care
The site states that its licensed therapists have over 15 years of experience on average and the app has a 4.9 out of 5 rating. The company calls its therapists "licensed" and "top-rated" and mentions that they provide "custom treatment plans." On the mental health page, it distinguishes between therapy providers and psychiatric clinicians, meaning therapists handle talk therapy and psychiatrists or nurse practitioners manage medication. The couples therapy page adds that the company has "diverse and top-rated therapists." The site does not clarify whether these are employees or contractors, whether they are licensed in specific states, or what credentials beyond "licensed" they hold.
What conditions it treats
The site lists anxiety, depression, ADHD, bipolar disorder, postpartum depression, PTSD, stress, grief and loss, eating disorders, OCD, phobias, panic disorder, insomnia, sleep problems, borderline personality disorder (BPD), and LGBTQ-specific concerns. It offers support for workplace issues, relationship problems, family counseling, anger management, behavioral therapy, and trauma. The mental health page itemizes these by category: anxiety (with sub-items including ADHD, workplace issues, insomnia, headaches, restlessness, and panic attacks); depression (fatigue, low mood, bipolar, chronic depression, mood swings); postpartum (postpartum depression, family and relationships, anxiety and stress, loss and miscarriage); relationships (depression, behavioral therapy, anger management, family counseling, couples therapy, marriage counseling); trauma and loss (physical abuse, grief and loss, PTSD, trauma); and disorders (eating disorders, ADHD, anxiety disorders, PTSD, OCD, phobias, panic disorder, insomnia, bipolar disorder, BPD, LGBTQ concerns, loneliness and isolation).
Medications and prescriptions
The site mentions "online prescriptions" and "medication management" but does not state which drugs the company can or cannot prescribe. The psychiatry section says that psychiatrists may prescribe "when appropriate," but the company does not publish a policy on controlled substances, stimulants for ADHD, or any other drug class. This is common in telehealth but means a patient will only learn what the company prescribes during a consultation.
Insurance and cost estimates
The headline is that visits could be "as low as $0" for patients covered by employer or insurance benefits. Therapy and couples therapy both cost $0 to $134 depending on insurance status. The company says it accepts "most insurance plans" but does not publish a state-by-state breakdown or a list of excluded plans. It does list several major health plans on the homepage, including Blue Cross Blue Shield plans in Minnesota and Texas, Compass Rose, Evry Health, Florida Health Care Plan, Harvard Pilgrim Health Care, and others, but this is partial and not comprehensive. For cash patients, therapy starts at $134 per session. Couples therapy also starts at $134 per session for uninsured patients. The cost-estimate tool on the site asks for legal name, date of birth, state, insurance name, and member ID to calculate an individual patient's cost, but the write-up does not clarify whether the estimate includes couples therapy, psychiatry, or other services.
What the site does not say
The site does not publish a full list of insurance plans it accepts or state-by-state coverage details. It does not clarify what percentage of patients actually pay $0 versus a copay, or what the average copay is. It does not explain the credentials of therapists beyond calling them "licensed" or the specializations or training they have. It does not state whether wait times vary by state, insurance plan, or provider availability. It does not discuss whether medications like controlled substances are available or what prescribing restrictions the company has. It does not clarify the refund or cancellation policy for missed appointments or dissatisfaction with a provider. For urgent care, it publishes prices for some conditions but does not provide comprehensive pricing on the mental health side. It does not explain how to appeal an insurance claim or what happens if the company is out of network for a patient's insurance plan.
Accessibility and platforms
The site mentions that therapy is available on phone, tablet, or computer, making it accessible across devices. It does not mention a web platform or only-app requirement. The app is available on iOS and Android based on the references to "get the app" and app store ratings, but the write-up does not specify which platforms or whether appointments must go through the app or can happen via browser.
Languages and age limits
Therapy is available for ages 18 and up, or under 18 with parental consent. The site does not mention other languages. The couples therapy section says the service is "for anyone, ages 18 or older," reinforcing the 18-plus minimum.
Who it fits and who it does not
Doctor on Demand fits people with employer or insurance coverage, especially if they have comprehensive mental health benefits, since visits could be free. It also fits cash patients willing to spend $134 per session for therapy, though that is above the average for online therapy. The platform works for people who want to see a therapist within a few days and prefer virtual appointments. Couples, veterans, LGBTQ clients, and people treating common conditions like anxiety and depression all have explicit callouts on the site. The service does not fit minors without parental consent, people with insurance plans it does not accept, and people who need specialized care like residential treatment, intensive outpatient programs, or psychiatric evaluation for complex disorders, since telehealth is a limited modality. It may not fit people in states where the company does not have licensed providers, though the site does not clarify its service area beyond saying appointments are booked by state.
The verdict
Doctor on Demand is a large, established national telehealth platform that combines urgent care and mental health in one app. For insured patients, it could mean free or low-cost therapy. The licensed therapists and 4.9-star rating suggest quality is a priority. The main uncertainty is insurance coverage, since the company does not publish which plans it accepts or whether a patient's plan covers mental health at their stated copay, making the cost-estimate tool essential before booking. The lack of detail about therapist credentials, specializations, and prescribed medications means expectations should be set during the initial consultation.