Grow Therapy

Tap a star to rate

What Grow Therapy is

Grow Therapy is a therapist and prescriber matching platform that connects patients with in-network providers across all 50 states. It positions itself as a directory rather than an employer of clinicians; therapists and psychiatrists list their services on the platform and patients search for the right fit by location, insurance, and need. The company does not charge membership fees; it serves patients by making provider search transparent, showing costs upfront through an insurance-based cost estimator, and offering both therapy and medication management in one place. Most appointments are virtual, though in-person options are available in some areas.

How it works

A visitor goes to Grow Therapy and enters basic information: the type of care needed (therapy or medication), state of residence, and insurance plan. The site shows available providers who accept that insurance in that state. Patients can filter further by city, specific needs (anxiety, ADHD, depression, couples, etc.), and the type of provider they want. Grow organizes its therapist and prescriber network by state; the site says "when looking for online therapy, you can see anyone that is credentialed in the state," whereas in-person search can narrow to nearby addresses. The platform accepts both insured and cash-paying patients. For insured patients, booking typically involves verifying insurance with the provider through a Member ID, and the patient will see individualized copay estimates based on their plan. The cost-estimate tool asks for legal name, date of birth, state of residence, insurance name, and member ID, then shows an estimated out-of-pocket cost. For patients without insurance, the platform allows cash booking at the provider's stated rate, which the site notes varies by therapist. Once booked, a patient receives therapy or medication management via telehealth or in person. The platform includes resources like "Therapy 101," "What to expect," and online quizzes (Anxiety, ADHD, Depression) to help people prepare or explore their concerns.

Costs and insurance

The company states that "clients pay $21 on average with their insurance," and "sessions cost $21 on average with insurance." This is an average across its network, meaning individual sessions could be higher or lower depending on insurance plan and provider. The cost-estimate tool is meant to show what a specific patient will actually pay, given their insurance and chosen provider. Patients without insurance can book at cash rates, which vary by provider. The site does not publish a typical cash rate but notes that individual session costs are listed on each provider's profile. Grow partners with multiple insurance plans; the site mentions accepting "Blue Cross Blue Shield in Texas" and "Anthem insurance in Georgia" as examples, but does not provide a complete list of accepted plans. The FAQ addresses insurance concerns directly: "When booking you'll be asked to verify with your Member ID. However, if you don't have any of the insurances available you can select cash. Our therapists will have their cost of appointment on their profile. Individual session costs will vary."

Available states, cities, and modalities

Grow operates across all 50 states. The site shows a full state list from Alabama to Wyoming, plus the District of Columbia. For each state, it offers searches by individual cities or by broader state availability. The homepage highlights major cities including Los Angeles, San Diego, Sacramento, Oakland, San Francisco (California); Houston, San Antonio, Dallas, Austin, Fort Worth (Texas); Miami, Jacksonville, Orlando, Tampa (Florida); Chicago (Illinois); Philadelphia (Pennsylvania); New York (New York); Atlanta (Georgia); Charlotte (North Carolina); and Indianapolis (Indiana). Some states mention immediate availability; for example, the site notes "Available this week in Pennsylvania" and "Available online in Georgia." Most services are virtual, though the site affirms that in-person options exist. The FAQ explains: "If you'd rather see someone in-person, you can change the filter from virtual and find a therapist near your address."

Types of therapy and prescribers

Patients can filter by type of care: therapy or medication. The therapy side includes individual therapy, couples therapy, and support for specific needs. The medication side connects patients with prescribers. The platform asks what type of support a patient needs; the site mentions options including anxiety, ADHD, depression, and other specialties, though does not list them all exhaustively. The FAQs note that patients can browse therapists and prescribers by "specialty, care type, and availability," implying that the platform tracks providers' training and focus. The site mentions support for "active military and veterans in Texas," suggesting some providers on the platform specialize in trauma or military issues.

Who provides the care

The site refers to therapists, counselors, and prescribers but does not clarify their credentials or credentials required to list. It uses the term "therapist" broadly, which could include licensed clinical social workers (LCSWs), licensed professional counselors (LPCs), licensed marriage and family therapists (LMFTs), psychologists, or peer counselors. The site emphasizes filtering by provider but does not explain whether all providers meet the same licensing standard or whether unlicensed or peer-support providers are included. The phrase "therapist / counselor" in the provider categories suggests variety in credentials. The site does not publish individual credentials or years of experience.

What Grow does not say

The site does not publish a complete list of accepted insurance plans. It gives examples (Blue Cross, Anthem) but not comprehensive coverage details. It does not state which providers accept which plans; patients must check with the cost estimator or contact providers directly. The site does not specify typical wait times for initial appointments or ongoing availability. It does not detail what therapeutic approaches are offered (CBT, DBT, psychodynamic, etc.), though the FAQ mentions "different treatment options, including self-help techniques," without elaborating. It does not explain what happens if a patient's insurance is denied or if a claim is rejected. It does not clarify the credentials required of providers or what licensing checks Grow performs; the site asserts that providers are "credentialed in the state" but does not explain what that entails. It does not state whether prescribers can prescribe all medications or specific classes. It does not publish subscription fees or membership costs to patients. It does not discuss whether a patient can request a provider change or how to escalate dissatisfaction.

Age groups and populations

Grow mentions teens alongside adults and does not state a minimum age. The site specifically calls out veterans and active military in Texas, suggesting veterans have dedicated provider filters or resources. It mentions LGBTQ-positive options and couples therapy. The site does not clarify whether it serves minors under a certain age, whether parental consent is required, or whether child-focused providers (playing therapy, family therapy with minors) are available.

Who it fits and who it does not

Grow Therapy fits people in any of the 50 states looking for a therapist or prescriber. It fits people with insurance, especially those willing to use the cost estimator upfront and book with the copay in mind. It fits people who want to comparison-shop providers and see a range of options. It fits people who want virtual therapy and want to verify before booking that the provider accepts their insurance. It fits couples and people seeking specialized support (anxiety, ADHD, veterans).

It does not fit people outside the United States. It does not fit people who need urgent crisis support; the site makes no mention of crisis intervention and directs people in crisis to the 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline. It does not fit people needing intensive outpatient or residential programs, since Grow matches individual therapy and prescribing appointments. It does not fit people with insurance Grow does not accept, and since no full list is published, those patients must call or use the cost estimator to verify. It does not fit people who want to see a provider's credentials or specializations in detail before booking, since those are not published on the public-facing site. It does not fit people who want price certainty before verifying insurance; cash rates are by provider and vary, and insurance estimates require providing personal information to the cost tool.

The verdict

Grow Therapy is a transparent, nationwide marketplace for therapy and medication management. The $21 average copay for insured patients positions it competitively, and the cost estimator removes guesswork about out-of-pocket costs. The match-by-state-and-insurance model is practical and consumer-friendly. The main trade-offs are that the site shares little detail about provider credentials or training before booking, and insurance verification requires personal information and involves individual provider confirmation. For people with stable health insurance and comfort using an online directory, Grow is a low-friction way to access mental health care.

More in Online Psychiatry and Medication

See all