Open
Tap a star to rate
What the service is
Open is a mindfulness studio designed as a hybrid platform, offering guided breathwork, meditation, and movement classes delivered through digital channels (an iOS app and web app) alongside optional in-person studio sessions. The company frames itself as a social space for meditation practice both online and in physical locations, blending traditional mindfulness teachings with modern music, sound, and movement. Open operates on a subscription model rather than credit-based pricing and does not use a live therapist model; instead, it provides pre-recorded or live-streamed classes led by certified instructors who are based internationally.
What you actually get
Open's digital offering is built around three primary class formats: Meditate (guided meditation and light breathwork set to music, designed to be a shorter session for all levels), Move (yoga and breathwork combined with music, described as mindful movement for all levels), and Breathe (an immersive sensory experience combining breathwork, music, and meditation marketed as something "wholly new" rather than traditional meditation). The company's site emphasizes that its approach grounds practice "in your senses" to interrupt mental chatter without requiring silence or complete stillness; classes are designed for beginners through advanced practitioners.
Digital access is delivered through an iOS app and a web app, both of which offer unlimited on-demand classes once you subscribe. New users receive a complimentary trial of seven to fourteen days of digital classes; you must create an account to access this trial. The company's site indicates classes are available on-demand and mentions workshops as part of the subscription offering, though specific workshop topics or frequency are not detailed. Subscribers can share the Open experience with friends; the FAQ notes this is a subscription benefit but does not explain whether this means sharing login credentials, gifting access, or a separate feature.
The in-person component is optional and operates separately from the digital subscription. Open runs a physical studio with classes in three formats: yoga, breathwork plus sound, and meditation. If you attend in-person, the company requires you to arrive at least ten minutes before class starts (fifteen minutes if new) to check in and, for first-time attendees, sign a waiver and receive a tour. The studio provides yoga mats, eye masks for breathwork and meditation classes, and sweat towels for yoga; water is available. The company prohibits phones and personal belongings in the practice room but provides cubbies for storage. A cancellation policy applies to in-person bookings: canceling at least twelve hours before a class refunds your credit, but canceling within twelve hours of class or missing without notice results in a ten dollar late cancellation or no-show fee. Active members receive two complimentary grace cancellations per month that waive the fee (though the class credit is still forfeited). There is also a waitlist system for classes that reach capacity.
What the pages prove
Open's digital subscription costs $20 per month or $150 per year, both with auto-renewal monthly or annually. The company's site states you can cancel your subscription at any time; if you subscribed via the website, you cancel from your profile page; if you subscribed through the App Store, you cancel through your device's settings. The company also offers in-person studio classes, but the subscription pages do not state the price for these sessions or how they are purchased; the FAQ mentions class credits and a ten dollar late cancellation fee but does not explain the per-class cost or whether a separate payment model applies.
The iOS app is available in the Apple App Store. The company does not mention an Android app. The web app is accessible via desktop or laptop; the FAQ notes that some profile settings (like changing your profile picture) must be done on desktop rather than mobile. The company emphasizes that all classes are designed for all levels, whether you are a beginner, a seasoned practitioner, or somewhere in between.
The FAQ states that the company responds to customer support inquiries within one to two business days at support@o-p-e-n.com. Account features include the ability to customize notification reminders via your profile, create and manage a profile picture, and generate account login if you forget your password. You can subscribe and access classes from multiple devices by signing in with the same account.
The site describes Open's teachers as "wise, intelligent and embodied leaders in the fields of mindfulness and movement, from all over the world." It does not specify their credentials, licenses, certifications, training backgrounds, or whether they are employees or contractors. The company does not publish information about who founded Open, when it was established, or the qualifications of its leadership.
What the service does not say
The company's site does not publish prices for in-person classes. It mentions class credits, late cancellation fees, and a waitlist, but not the cost per class, the cost of a package, or whether in-person access is included with a digital subscription or requires separate payment. For someone interested in attending studio classes regularly, this is a substantial gap.
The site does not specify whether the digital classes are live, recorded, or a mix of both. It mentions "synchronously" practicing with friends via the app and references "on-demand" classes but does not clarify the format or whether you can join live sessions with real-time interaction with the instructor or other students. The company does not explain whether classes are pre-recorded or freshly recorded, how often new classes are added, or whether the same class repeats or rotates out.
The FAQ does not state how much data or storage space the app requires, whether it works offline, or whether it requires an active internet connection. There is no information about accessibility features, whether captions are available, or whether the service works with devices for people with hearing or vision impairment. The company does not mention age restrictions or any groups for whom the service is not recommended. It does not address whether the service is appropriate during pregnancy, after injury, or for people with specific medical conditions.
The site does not explain the company's refund policy beyond the twelve-hour window for in-person class cancellations. It does not state what happens if a class is canceled by the studio, whether you get a refund if you are unsatisfied with a class or the subscription overall, or the policy for refunding a portion of an annual subscription if you cancel mid-year.
Who it fits and who it does not
Open is designed for people who prefer a social, community-oriented approach to mindfulness practice and who may enjoy both digital and in-person options. The subscription model works well for people who plan to use the service frequently; at $20 per month for unlimited classes, it can work out cheaper than paying for individual studio sessions over time. The trial period gives new subscribers time to explore the classes before committing payment.
The service does not include therapy, medication management, or crisis support. It is not designed for people who need personalized guidance or one-on-one instruction. The iOS-only mobile app excludes people who use Android phones or tablets. The digital-subscription model means there is no financial access for people who cannot pay monthly; the company does not offer a free tier or sliding-scale pricing.
The requirement for an in-person deposit (arriving fifteen minutes early for a waiver and tour on the first visit) may be a barrier for people with mobility limitations, transportation challenges, or social anxiety. The late cancellation fee and no-show fee structure may be problematic for people with unreliable schedules, caregiving responsibilities, or chronic conditions that make predictable attendance difficult. The grace-cancellation allowance only covers two per month, which does not accommodate unpredictable health flare-ups or regular schedule conflicts.