Calm

Tap a star to rate

What Calm is

Calm is a self-guided meditation, sleep, and mindfulness app with no therapist or live coaching involved. It was founded by Alex Tew and Michael Acton Smith and sits among the most downloaded wellness apps globally. The company's site claims it holds the number one ranking for sleep, meditation, and relaxation apps in the US market.

What you get from the app

Calm's interface organizes content into six main modules. Meditate includes guided meditations taught by instructors, ranging from brief sessions to longer practices and covering topics from beginner meditation fundamentals to advanced techniques. Sleep offers Sleep Stories, a signature feature where narrators read bedtime stories, along with meditations and music designed to help you fall asleep and stay asleep. Music provides exclusive audio tracks for focus, relaxation, and sleep without narration. Move contains video lessons on gentle stretching and mindful movement for people seeking physical activity paired with mindfulness. For Work delivers sessions aimed at overwhelm, burnout, and workplace focus, targeting the employee population and workplace mental health. Soundscapes plays looped background sounds for relaxation, sleep, or work, ranging from rain and thunder to forest ambience and urban soundtracks.

The app's library holds over 50,000 minutes of content, according to its site. The Sleep Stories collection alone includes 300 episodes, each narrated to guide you toward sleep. All content is self-guided: you select from the library on your schedule, pace through material at your own speed, and advance when you're ready. New material is added regularly, so the available library grows over time. The app structure lets you explore by category, pick based on your current need, or follow a structured program lasting a set number of days.

A free trial lasts 14 days, giving you access to the full app experience before you commit to payment. After the trial ends, the app requires a subscription to keep using most features. The company offers annual and monthly subscription plans, plus the ability to pay with Health Savings Accounts or Flexible Spending Accounts if you have employer-sponsored plans. Family plans exist, though pricing is not published on the About page alone. Gift subscriptions and referral programs are available for people who want to share Calm access.

Calm's content is produced in-house. The company emphasizes that the mindfulness teachers whose voices guide the meditations and sleep stories are on staff at Calm, not a rotating network of guest instructors or freelancers. The app does not include therapist-guided sessions, live group calls, or peer support. It is purely asynchronous self-guided content delivered on your device at whatever hour you choose to use it.

What the pages prove

Calm reports 180 million cumulative downloads on its site. Its app store ratings show 3 million five-star reviews across both Apple's App Store and Google Play Store, tallied from the app's full history spanning 2013 to 2025. The company cites Sensor Tower's Q2 2024 Performance Analysis as the source for its claim of being the number-one app for sleep, meditation, and relaxation in the US.

The company has won several recognitions. It was Apple's App of the Year in 2017. Fast Company named it one of its 2020 Most Innovative Companies and one of its 2024 Brands That Matter. TIME included Calm in its 2022 list of the 100 Most Influential Companies.

The app is available on iOS and Android platforms. Calm also offers workplace programs, suggesting availability to employees through employer partnerships. The site does not specify which countries the app serves or any geographic restrictions, though it mentions a workplace mental health arm called Calm for Work.

Content languages are not listed on the captured About page, so Calm's language coverage is unclear. Age recommendations or parental controls are also not mentioned in the text provided.

What Calm does not say

Pricing is not published on the About page or the main site sections captured here. The existence of monthly, annual, and family plan tiers is mentioned, but no dollar amounts appear. Whether the subscription offers different pricing levels (basic, premium, family) or what each tier includes is not stated. The free trial period is 14 days, but whether it requires a credit card upfront is not specified.

Geographic availability is not detailed beyond the implication that the app serves the US as a primary market. It's unclear whether all content is available in all countries where the app can be downloaded or whether some regions have restrictions.

Accessibility features, if any, are not mentioned. Whether the app supports screen readers, captions for video movement lessons, or other assistive tools is not addressed on the captured pages. The company's hiring page and culture materials are not captured here, so who the team is beyond the two founders remains unknown.

Clinical evidence or efficacy claims are mentioned only as "science-backed content" in the main site menu without details or study links. The specific conditions Calm targets are not enumerated on the About page. Whether the app markets itself for anxiety, depression, insomnia, stress, ADHD, or other specific conditions is not made explicit in the captured materials.

Who Calm fits and who it doesn't

Calm is for people who want self-guided meditation and relaxation on their own schedule without a live instructor or appointment. It's especially suited to people who like narrated sleep stories as a falling-asleep tool or who want passive soundscapes for focus and background calm. The large library and multiple formats (audio, video, music) mean most meditation preferences will find something.

Calm is not therapy and carries no clinical evaluation or treatment claims for specific mental health conditions on its site. Anyone needing real-time support, a therapist, medication management, or crisis support should not rely on Calm alone. Couples seeking relationship work or parents seeking support parenting a child with mental health needs won't find that here. Anyone with hearing loss may struggle if the app depends primarily on audio, though the video movement lessons offer visual instruction.

The app requires a subscription after a two-week trial, so cost is a barrier if you have no budget for wellness apps. The free trial is generous by app standards but does not convert to free lifetime access. If you are outside the US or in a region where Calm is not fully available, regional restrictions may apply, though this is not confirmed on the provided pages.

More in Meditation and Mindfulness

See all