Poppy Seed Health
Tap a star to rate
What Poppy Seed Health Is
Poppy Seed Health is a mobile app launched in 2019 that connects users to trained advocates (doulas, midwives, and nurses) for text-based support during pregnancy, postpartum, and miscarriage or loss. The platform was founded by Simmone Taitt, who experienced multiple miscarriages while navigating both insured and uninsured healthcare and identified a gap in emotional support services during reproductive challenges. The practice of doulas and midwives providing emotional and practical support exists in traditional healthcare, but Poppy brings the model into text-based, on-demand digital format. The company positions itself around "accessibility and equity" in emotional and mental support for birthing people, with explicit attention to support for Medicaid members. The app has received recognition including a Top 50 Digital Health Disruptors Award and App of the Day in 2022. Poppy also offers an employer benefit option, making it available through some workplace benefits packages.
What You Actually Get
Poppy works through its mobile app. After downloading, users request a chat and get connected to one of the company's 400+ trained advocates (doulas, midwives, or nurses) within 90 seconds. The app provides 1:1 text support, with chats lasting up to 30 minutes. A doula, as the site explains, is "a trained professional who provides emotional support for birthing people." A midwife is "a professional with medical training to help birthing people before, during and after labor and delivery." A nurse is "a licensed practitioner with education and certification in medicine." These distinctions matter for the type of support a user receives: a nurse can answer clinical questions a doula cannot, while a doula brings specific training in emotional support and comfort measures.
The topics the advocates support include birth and postpartum planning, lactation support, comfort measures during labor and delivery, new relationship dynamics after becoming a parent, infant care and sleep, self-care in the postpartum period, processing miscarriage and loss, birth story listening (a specific postpartum healing practice), and NICU support for parents whose babies require intensive care. The company emphasizes that it "unflinchingly supports you through miscarriage and loss" with advocates trained specifically in this area.
Poppy offers 2 pricing models. The pay-per-chat model costs $5 per chat and gives 24/7 access to text doulas, midwives, or nurses with the ability to request chats any time. Chats are up to 30 minutes with individual advocates. Members also get access to an evidence-based resource library selected by the company. The subscription model offers deeper value: 1 month of unlimited chatting costs $29 (one-time fee), 3 months costs $69, 6 months costs $139, and 9 months costs $209. All subscriptions include 24/7 texting with advocates, 1:1 support any time, access to the resource library, and the ability to cancel any time. The company also offers gift subscriptions at the same price points, allowing someone to gift access to another person. Importantly, the site states "a portion of your subscription helps us deliver Poppy to members on Medicaid," making access a stated social equity commitment.
What the Pages Prove
The site explicitly states the 90-second response time for chat connections. It says advocates consist of "doulas, midwives and nurses around the country," and that users get "real people, every time." The site lists 400+ advocates on the network. The pricing is clearly published: $5 per chat, $29 for 1 month, $69 for 3 months, $139 for 6 months, and $209 for 9 months (all one-time fees). Subscription models include "cancel any time" language, meaning no long-term commitment is required. The site offers an evidence-based resource library of material on pregnancy and postpartum support.
The practice covers pregnancy, postpartum, and loss explicitly: "We support all journeys," and "We've said goodbye to off-limits and taboo." The site covers NICU support, infant sleep, lactation, birth planning, and specific loss support. Topics are listed explicitly rather than vaguely. The founder, Simmone Taitt, is named on the site, and her personal experience with multiple miscarriages is stated explicitly. She became a "birth and full spectrum doula" before launching Poppy. The site quotes her: "This is why I started Poppy Seed Health to restructure pregnancy and postpartum care with an emphasis on emotional and mental health support that puts accessibility, equity and radical empathy at the center of our care model."
The app availability is for iOS and Android (implied by "DOWNLOAD THE APP" links). The site mentions an employer benefit option, suggesting it is available through some workplace benefits packages. The company's support for Medicaid members is highlighted through the "Poppy Pay It Forward" program, which allows people to donate their subscription to support Medicaid members.
What Poppy Does Not Say
The site does not publish information about therapist qualifications beyond general doula, midwife, and nurse categories. It does not specify the credentials of individual advocates, licensing bodies they answer to, or how they are vetted and trained. The site does not describe what training advocates receive beyond the doula/midwife/nurse designations. For nurses specifically, the site does not specify whether they are RNs, LPNs, or hold other credentials.
The site does not mention crisis support or emergency hotline services. It does not state whether advocates can connect a user to emergency services or crisis resources if a user expresses suicidal ideation or severe distress. For someone in acute psychiatric crisis, the service may not be adequate as a sole provider.
The site does not publish specific response times for follow-up messages after the initial connection. It states "90 seconds or less" for the initial connection, but does not say how quickly subsequent messages within a chat receive replies. The site does not specify whether support is available in languages other than English or whether the app has accessibility features beyond general app accessibility.
The site does not name which employers or health plans offer Poppy as a benefit. It does not state whether subscription costs are tax-deductible as a medical expense or how it interacts with FSA or HSA benefits. The site does not mention insurance coverage for any portion of the service.
Who It Fits and Who It Does Not
Poppy fits someone in the postpartum period looking for non-clinical emotional support and practical advice on immediate challenges like infant sleep, lactation, or returning to a changed relationship. It suits someone who had a miscarriage or pregnancy loss and wants to process the emotional and physical recovery with trained advocates who have specific expertise in perinatal loss. It fits someone who cannot access or afford traditional therapy but has $5 per chat or $29 per month available. It fits someone who prefers text-based support over phone or video, especially for questions that are not emergencies but need expert guidance.
Poppy fits employers or health plans that want to offer an affordable postpartum benefit that does not require clinical staff and can be scaled across many employees or members. It suits people on Medicaid who may have limited mental health coverage.
Poppy does not fit someone in acute psychiatric crisis or experiencing suicidal thoughts; emergency services are appropriate. It does not fit someone who needs medication management, psychiatric evaluation, or formal psychotherapy. It does not fit someone who needs care in a language other than English (if not offered). It does not fit someone outside the app's geographic scope. It does not replace postpartum depression or postpartum anxiety treatment that requires a psychiatrist or therapist, though it can supplement such care for practical support between formal appointments.