Big Health
Tap a star to rate
What it is
Big Health makes FDA-cleared digital cognitive behavioral therapy programs for sleep and anxiety. The company's main products are SleepioRx and DaylightRx, prescription digital therapeutics that clinicians order for patients with insomnia disorder and generalized anxiety disorder respectively. Big Health also offers non-prescription versions of Sleepio and Daylight for self-guided use, plus Spark Direct for mood support. The company distributes these programs through health systems, health plans, and employers as reimbursable treatments, not through direct-to-consumer sales. According to the company's site, over 500,000 patients have been treated and supported through the platform.
How the programs work and what you get
The digital programs teach evidence-based cognitive behavioral therapy techniques through interactive modules accessed on a smartphone app or web platform. Users work through structured lessons and exercises at their own pace, with no waiting lists required for access. The site describes the approach as instantly accessible and consistent in quality, with no variation in how the therapy is delivered.
For the prescription versions, SleepioRx treats chronic insomnia disorder in adults age 18 and older, while DaylightRx treats generalized anxiety disorder (GAD) in adults age 22 and older. These require a licensed healthcare provider to order them as part of usual care. The Sleepio, Daylight, and Spark Direct non-prescription versions work similarly but are available without a prescription. The site states that Sleepio helps improve sleep quality, Daylight reduces worry and anxiety, and Spark Direct improves mood. Users receive the same techniques and structure in both prescription and non-prescription versions.
The programs operate standalone, not as replacements for other treatment. The company's site notes that SleepioRx and DaylightRx are for use "alongside usual care," meaning patients continue seeing their regular providers. The digital program delivers first-line therapy for the specific condition, not crisis intervention or replacement of ongoing psychiatric care.
The app is available on iOS and Android, and the company publishes an App Store rating of 4 out of 5 stars on both platforms. On the company's implementation side, employers and health plans report a Client Implementation Satisfaction Score of 9.8 out of 10. This refers to the experience of deploying the program across an organization, not individual user satisfaction.
The programs are distributed through a B2B model. Employers can offer Sleepio and Daylight to employees and their families as a mental health benefit. Health plans can include the programs for their members. Health systems and providers can offer SleepioRx and DaylightRx as a reimbursable treatment option. The site presents three separate pathways to access: through an employer benefit, through a health plan, or through a health system/provider who orders it.
What the captured pages show
The company publishes outcome data from clinical research. The site states that 76 percent of patients showed improvement in sleep, 71 percent showed improvement in worry and anxiety, and 67 percent showed improvement in mood. These figures are attributed to published research, with citations provided. The company lists over 100 peer-reviewed publications backing its claims and 22 completed randomized controlled trials. The research citations include studies published in Sleep (2012) and Depression and Anxiety (2020), and an unpublished RCT from December 2023 for the mood data.
Regarding the prescription products specifically, the site states that SleepioRx and DaylightRx are FDA-cleared digital therapeutics. Only SleepioRx and DaylightRx carry FDA clearance; the non-prescription Sleepio, Daylight, and Spark Direct programs have not been reviewed or approved by the FDA, according to the site's disclaimer.
The prescription products are restricted by age. SleepioRx is for chronic insomnia in adults age 18 and older. DaylightRx is for GAD in adults age 22 and older. The non-prescription versions do not specify age restrictions on the captured page.
The site does not publish individual pricing. It states that the programs are available as a benefit through employers, health plans, or health systems. To access pricing or implementation details, potential customers are directed to request a demo from the company's team.
The company's site does not specify which states or regions the programs are available in. The programs are described as available via health systems, health plans, and employers, implying nationwide deployment, but no geographic limitations are stated.
The site does not identify the license types of the clinical oversight team or the providers who interact with users. It states that Big Health delivers "Proven care for common mental health conditions delivered through fully digital solutions," and that the programs are overseen by experts, but the specific credentials are not published.
What the pages do not say
The site does not specify whether the programs are covered by any insurance plans or whether they are included in any specific employer group health plans. It does not name any employers currently offering the programs or any health plans currently covering them. This is notable because the company positions the programs as benefits distributed through these channels, yet does not list actual current customers or specific coverage details.
The pricing is entirely hidden behind a demo request. The captured pages do not indicate whether the programs are offered per-employee, per-family, per-claim, or through another model. There's no indication of what an employer might pay or what an individual out-of-pocket cost might be for the non-prescription versions if purchased outside an employer or health plan.
The site does not explain how patients are matched to the appropriate program if they have multiple conditions. For example, a person with both insomnia and anxiety would need both SleepioRx and DaylightRx; the page does not describe how that assignment happens or whether a single order covers both.
The pages do not address what happens if a patient does not improve after completing the program, whether there is a refund mechanism, or whether a different treatment is recommended. The site does not discuss dropout rates or partial completion outcomes.
No information is provided about data privacy or how patient information is handled beyond a generic reference to a privacy policy link.
Who it fits and who it does not
This works well for employers or health plans looking to offer mental health treatment as an add-on benefit without hiring more clinicians. The instant-access model suits people who cannot wait months for a therapy appointment. For employees with good employer insurance that covers the program, it offers therapy at low or no out-of-pocket cost.
It fits people with insomnia disorder or generalized anxiety disorder specifically, since the research and FDA approvals are narrow to these two conditions. The mood program (Spark Direct) is less specific and the research backing is weaker.
It does not work for people outside an employer health plan or health plan that offers the program, since it is not sold directly to consumers. Crisis situations requiring immediate human contact would not be appropriate for a self-guided digital program. People with psychosis, active suicidality, or other complex psychiatric needs would need different care alongside or instead of the digital program.
It is not suitable for minors under the age limits: under 22 for DaylightRx, under 18 for SleepioRx, and no age stated for the non-prescription versions.