Coa

Tap a star to rate

What Coa is

Coa positions itself as a gym for mental health, offering group classes led by licensed therapists alongside community support. The company describes the approach as training emotional fitness the way people train physical fitness, offering memberships priced at $49 per month for unlimited classes. This subscription model contrasts with traditional individual therapy. Rather than crisis intervention or clinical treatment, Coa targets people looking to build mental-health routines and strengthen resilience outside of or alongside individual therapy. Each class combines video instruction, interactive exercises, and small-group discussion. The company frames emotional fitness as something people can train through ongoing practice, using tangible skill-building rather than crisis response.

How it works: format and class structure

All classes are delivered by video. New members can start with a free 15-minute emotional fitness class to get a sense of the format. The company describes its classes as "full of interactive exercises and small-group discussions", not lectures. Within each class, participants receive practical takeaways meant to be integrated into daily life right away. The company states explicitly: "Leave each class with actionable tools that you can integrate into your life right away."

Coa organises its curriculum into thematic series, allowing members to build learning progressively. Most series run 8 classes (Emotionally Fit Leadership, Emotional Fitness for Mental Health, Emotionally Fit Manager), though some are shorter: 2-class series cover managing burnout, setting boundaries, confidence and impostor syndrome, or romantic relationships. A 3-class series focuses on navigating job change. Some series target specific groups: Emotionally Fit Leadership for BIPOC Leaders, Emotionally Fit Leadership for Female Leaders, and Emotionally Fit Leadership for Product Managers all exist as distinct offerings. This curriculum structure means the same class topic (emotional fitness or leadership training) appears tailored to different professional and demographic contexts. Within the Romantic Relationships series, the company describes how classes help participants "understand how your experiences inform how you show up in relationships, increase your ability to tune into your partner's needs, and learn how to better communicate with your partner(s) when feeling defensive."

Membership includes access beyond live classes. Members get journal prompts and digital exercises described as "therapist-led journal prompts and digital exercises designed to help you work through challenges, gain insight, and take action." The company maintains an extensive library of responses to common mental-health questions, available as on-demand reading material. Within classes themselves, members participate in breakout groups and structured discussions. The company emphasises the social dimension: "You don't have to do it alone! Connect with a supportive community of people committed to proactive mental health. Stay accountable to your goals in class with breakout groups and discussions."

What the company publishes: pricing, credentials, and scope

Coa's pricing is $49 per month for unlimited classes. The company does not publish individual session fees, sliding scales, or discounts. No payment plans or annual pricing options are mentioned on the main landing page. The company does not publish its therapists' credentials on the main page. It states only that classes are "led by therapists" without specifying license types, certifications, professional backgrounds, whether therapists are employees or contractors, or additional qualifications like PhDs, LCSWs, LMFTs, or other credentials.

The company does not identify specific mental-health conditions it addresses or diagnoses it treats. Instead, content is organised around life challenges and contexts: burnout, impostor syndrome, career transitions, leadership development, relationship dynamics, and boundary-setting. There is no mention of how Coa handles anxiety disorders, depression, bipolar disorder, PTSD, or other clinical diagnoses. The company does not publish information about insurance acceptance, whether any employer plans cover Coa membership, whether Medicaid or Medicare is accepted, or state availability. It does not specify whether the service is available outside the United States. The company provides no published research, efficacy studies, clinical outcomes data, or evidence that the model is better than or comparable to individual therapy. No mention is made of the number of therapists, years in operation, total active users, or any certifications the company holds.

The company does not address age restrictions, whether minors or teenagers are served, or whether parents can attend with teenagers. It does not explain its cancellation policy, whether memberships require contracts, or what refund policies apply.

What Coa doesn't say

The company publishes no independent research or clinical trials. Testimonials come from social media posts or named public community members, not anonymised client feedback or formal case studies. No clinical comparison to individual therapy is provided, and no independent validation of outcomes is published.

The company does not explain how members are matched to specific classes or therapists, whether participants work with the same instructor across a series, or how to find classes matching a particular schedule or topic beyond browsing hundreds of options. The Coa at Work corporate offering is mentioned but without pricing, features, or implementation details.

The company does not state whether Coa classes are a suitable replacement for individual therapy, psychiatric medication management, or clinical evaluation. It does not clarify which conditions make Coa alone inadequate or dangerous. While the footer links to the Crisis Text Line (text HOME to 741741) and the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline (800-273-8255), the company does not explain when a user should seek crisis care instead of or alongside Coa. The company does not publish whether therapists can refer members to higher-level care or how that referral process works.

Who it fits

Coa fits people with $49 monthly to spend out of pocket, either from personal cash budgets or employer wellness stipends. It works for someone seeking to supplement individual therapy with peer support and therapist-led group instruction, or to start building mental-health practices proactively without committing to weekly one-on-one sessions. Someone managing workplace stress, burnout, career transitions, leadership responsibilities, or relationship challenges will find targeted content. A reader preferring group and community engagement over purely self-guided apps or anonymous peer chat would fit the model.

Coa may not fit someone without $49 monthly or someone unable to pay out of pocket. It does not serve people in acute crisis, who need immediate psychiatric evaluation, or who require medication management. It will not work for someone who needs a consistent, primary therapist who knows their full history and can diagnose conditions. Someone needing clinical assessment for depression, anxiety, bipolar disorder, or other diagnoses should not rely on Coa as a primary mental health service. A teenager or younger person should check whether age restrictions apply, which is not specified on the site.

More in Peer Support and Communities

See all