ocd.app
Tap a star to rate
What ocd.app Is
ocd.app is a self-guided cognitive-behavioral therapy (CBT) app designed specifically for obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD). The app is positioned as the number one OCD app on the App Store and has been downloaded by more than 150,000 users worldwide. It was developed by a clinical team led by Prof. Guy Doron, a clinical psychologist and pioneering OCD researcher who defined relationship obsessive-compulsive disorder (ROCD). The app is built on 22 research papers, including 10 randomized controlled trials (RCTs), and holds ISO 27001 certification for data security and confidentiality. The company explicitly states "ocd.app is educational self-help software based on cognitive behavioural therapy. It is not therapy, medical advice, diagnosis or treatment, and no human clinical services are provided."
What You Actually Get
Users begin with a free OCI-4 assessment, a validated tool for measuring obsessive-compulsive symptoms. After completing the assessment, the app provides personalized CBT exercises tailored to the user's specific triggers and thought patterns. The app is designed for daily use in "just 5-10 minutes a day." Users can track their progress by monitoring OCI-4 scores and mood levels in real-time. The company states this helps users "see how far you've come." The app uses "AI and big data" to target a single key element: the cognitive process. This approach delivers significant impact on emotional and general well-being. Clinical research supports this approach: the company reports that the app is "clinically validated at 6 months," suggesting users develop "healthy thinking habits that persist long after initial training."
ocd.app offers multiple treatment tracks beyond OCD. According to the site, "Each track uses the same evidence-based CBT methodology, personalized to your specific needs." Available tracks include OCD treatment, anxiety management, PTSD support, self-esteem building, chronic pain management, body image work, relationship OCD, and other related conditions. Each track has its own tailored exercises: the OCD treatment track uses "cognitive-behavioral techniques guided by 22 research papers including 10 RCTs"; the anxiety management track focuses on "managing anxiety through reframing intrusive thoughts and building coping strategies"; the PTSD track offers "structured exercises to help process trauma, build tolerance for uncertainty, and develop lasting resilience"; and the self-esteem track provides "CBT exercises designed to improve self-worth, challenge negative self-talk, and build confidence."
The app operates on a freemium model. It is "free to download and includes a free OCI-4 assessment," after which users can access a 7-day free trial of premium features. After the trial, premium features require a subscription, though the site does not specify the cost. The FAQ states "Is my data safe and confidential? Absolutely. We are ISO 27001 certified, which means your data is protected by enterprise-grade security. We never share personal information with third parties." The app is available on the App Store for iOS devices but does not mention an Android app on the captured page.
What the Pages Prove
ocd.app holds a 4.7 rating on the App Store. The company cites clinical results from its user base: "82% of users see first results within a week," and "Clinical studies show measurable OCI-4 score improvements within 2-4 weeks of consistent daily use." These outcomes are tied to daily use; the app assumes users will engage with it regularly. The app's research foundation is substantial. The site repeatedly emphasizes "22 research papers" and "10 randomized controlled trials," which form the basis of the app's exercises. The company states the app was "Grounded in 22 research papers including 10 randomized controlled trials" and that "Every exercise targets the cognitive process to deliver real impact on emotional and general well-being."
The app was developed by psychologists on staff and is "led by Prof. Guy Doron, a pioneering OCD researcher." The site describes Doron's background: "Guy's journey began with his work in cognitive-behavioral therapy (CBT), where he listened to countless stories of people struggling with OCD. This experience not only expanded his empathy and understanding of these challenges, but it also led him to become one of the pioneering researchers to define relationship obsessive-compulsive disorder (ROCD)." The treatment tracks serve different clinical needs: the OCD track addresses the core condition; anxiety, PTSD, self-esteem, and chronic pain tracks address conditions that frequently co-occur with or relate to OCD. The app supports both iOS (via the App Store) but availability on Android is not mentioned on the captured pages.
The app is described as "educational self-help software" and comes with this important disclaimer: "ocd.app is educational self-help software based on cognitive behavioural therapy. It is not therapy, medical advice, diagnosis or treatment, and no human clinical services are provided. If you are in crisis, contact your local emergency services or a crisis line." The company also provides crisis resources: "If you may be in immediate danger or unable to stay safe, contact local emergency services or a crisis service in your country now. Emergency resources" with a link provided.
What ocd.app Does Not Say
The app does not publish specific pricing for premium subscriptions. Users see only that a 7-day free trial is available; the site does not state what the monthly or annual cost is after the trial ends. The company does not disclose the total number of research papers beyond "22" or which specific journals published them. Individual credentials or affiliations of the clinical team members beyond Prof. Doron are not listed on the captured page. The app does not specify whether it is available on Android, nor does it mention compatibility with specific Android versions or iOS versions. There is no information about user support options: whether there is email support, live chat, or a help desk, or how quickly users can expect responses to questions. The app does not state whether users can speak with a therapist if needed or how to transition from using the app to seeking professional care. Access is limited to English speakers; no language options are mentioned.
The company does not publish detailed information about which types of OCD it addresses best or whether certain presentation types (contamination OCD, intrusive thoughts OCD, etc.) may respond better than others. The page mentions "OCD Subtypes Test" and a "False Memory OCD Test" but does not detail coverage of the subtypes themselves. No information is provided about whether the app data syncs across devices or whether sessions are device-specific.
Who It Fits and Who It Does Not
ocd.app suits people with OCD or OCD-spectrum conditions who prefer self-guided, structured CBT exercises over therapy, who can commit to daily 5-10 minute sessions, and who are comfortable with app-based learning and tracking. It works well for people seeking supplemental support alongside professional therapy, or as a starting point for those exploring evidence-based OCD treatment. The free assessment and trial allow users to test the app before committing financially. The multiple treatment tracks mean users with co-occurring anxiety, PTSD, or self-esteem concerns can address those in the same app.
ocd.app does not fit people in acute crisis or actively suicidal, people who need real-time human support during difficult moments, or those who need medication management (the app offers no prescribing). It is not a substitute for therapy with a licensed clinician, and the company explicitly states it provides no human clinical services. People needing a professional diagnosis of OCD should see a mental health professional, not rely on the app assessment alone. It is not appropriate for children or teenagers without parental involvement and oversight, though the site does not specify a minimum age. Users without iOS devices or those who require an Android app are not served.